Nominations for the 2022 Bow Valley Women of Distinction Awards are now closed!

These awards recognize local women who through their own initiative, ability and effort have demonstrated exemplary achievement in their fields. These women are outstanding role models and an inspiration. They have made substantial contributions to the social fabric of our community in unique ways.

Whether recognized as trailblazers in their field or young women on the rise, all are pathfinders, bringing forth the key issues facing Canadian women today.

  • Nominator Qualifications
    • The nominator can be any individual who is interested in nominating an eligible nominee
    • The nominator must fully complete the Nomination Form and submit it, along with the support material by 11:59 pm on Friday, April 29, 2022
    • Current members of the Bow Valley Women of Distinction Awards selection committee are not eligible to submit nominations
    • Multiple nominations from the same nominator are allowed
  • Nominee Eligibility
    Nominees must:
    • Be a role model, pioneer or outstanding achiever residing in the Bow Valley -including the communities of Banff, Canmore, Lake Louise, Exshaw, Kananaskis and Morley
    • Be 18 years of age or older
    • Support the mission and values of YWCA Banff
    • Consent to nomination
    In addition:
    • We welcome and encourage inclusive and diverse nominations with respect to nominees’ age, nationality, career path, and residence within the Bow Valley area
    • Previous nominees may be re-nominated
    • Previous award recipients; current YWCA Banff employees and Board members; and current Bow Valley Women of Distinction selection committee members are ineligible to be nominated
    • Post-humous nominations cannot be accepted
  • Selection Process

    The selection committee is comprised of YWCA Board members and employees, Women of Distinction alumnae and community members. The committee will review all submissions against nomination criteria and guidelines. The committee may contact nominators to confirm information or ask follow up questions.

    Three award recipients will be selected and announced on May 19, 2022, at 6:45 PM at the Malcolm Hotel during the Change Makers event.


    Important! Recipients will also be asked to deliver a short acceptance speech at the 2022 Women of Distinction Awards ceremony on May 19, 2022, at 6:45 PM at the Malcolm Hotel.

Community Champion

This award honors a woman who has initiated meaningful change within the local community, dedicating her own time and resources to champion her cause. She is a visionary trailblazer, a source of strength for her community, and has improved and enriched the lives of others. She has made a significant and sustained difference in the Bow Valley, and is an influential leader through paid work and/or volunteerism in the private, public, or not-for-profit sector.


This award honors a woman who boldly embraces new, original ideas and pursues creative ways of making a difference in the business or non-profit sector, or through volunteerism. She is a leader who challenges and motivates others to think outside of the box and explore cutting-edge solutions to improving their surroundings, facilitating change and creating opportunities whenever possible. She may be a founder, owner, leader or other innovator, creating and implementing innovative programs, practices, partnerships, policies or activities that influence social good and positive change for our community.

Margaret Stephens Young Women’s Leadership Award

This award recognizes an emerging leader age 30 and under, who is an inspirational role model in their career, achievements or community building roles. She has made a significant difference in the Bow Valley through her commitment to a cause or pursuit of a personal dream while showing perseverance, innovation and a keen understanding of community issues. She inspires others to follow her example, and sets the pace for others to walk alongside her. She is a leader who will continue to inspire us for years to come.


  • Jane Park – Community Champion
  • Soulafa Al-Abbasi – Innovation
  • Meg Ohsada – Young Women’s Leadership


  • Pat Grayling
  • Nan Hughes Poole
  • Karen Hunter Sorensen


  • Elizabeth Hall-Findlay
  • Alanna Pettigrew
  • Lorraine Widmer-Carson


  • Mary Buckingham
  • Keri Martens
  • Janet Townsend


  • Carolin J. Crofts
  • Madeline Crilley
  • Priscilla Wilson


  • Carla Pauls
  • Corrie DiManno
  • Bev Carrick

Shaping a safe and inclusive Bow Valley that empowers women and their community for a better future.

Sign up for The Bridge Newsletter

Creating Community Connections.